[Sitdown #6] Tall Grass, watch out!

Repetition.

Like clockwork, and yet you still find yourself back at the same place.

The process is the same as always, age is nothing more than a number as you whip out your Nintendo gaming console as you question yourself this.

“Why? It is the same old thing again..” Unknowingly, you look forward to the latest news regarding Pokémon- irregardless whether you still play it or not.

Is it a nostalgia act? Or is it simply because a part of you refuses to let go of your childhood?

We can only truly be ourselves when we hide our true faces from society.

This so-called “Freedom” that we speak of is nothing more than an illusion created to trap ourselves in our own pool of despair.

Validating one’s self worth on the whim of others has become societal norms today.

Today, I will be featuring a good friend of mine that I’ve known for many years. He has played Pokémon with me ever since Secondary School and on numerous occasions, aided me in completing my Pokédex.

 

Zachary Picture
Mr Zachary Lam himself.

 

J: How long have you been playing Pokémon? What’s your very first Pokémon game?

Z: Let me think, somewhere around twelve years. I didn’t start playing Pokémon like most people in (Pokémon) Red and Blue.

In fact, the first Pokémon game I’ve played was Pokémon Sapphire! I was instantly hooked to the game the moment it was released. The funny thing is, it was because of Sapphire being blue themed that my favourite Pokémon typing is Water.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

J: What do you like most about Pokémon?

Z: If I were to narrow it down, I would say that fighting the Gym Leaders and challenging the Elite Four takes the cake as to what I enjoy most about Pokémon.

In recent games, the Gym Leaders and Elite Four were way much easier compared to the last Elite Four that actually packed a punch in Pokémon Diamond, Pearl and Platinum. Even still, it is still a challenge to most new Pokémon players and that’s what I like about it. It also reminds me of taking final examinations in school, heh.

In (Pokémon) Sun and Moon, they had Island Trials instead of the conventional Gym Leaders that we were all accustomed to. Despite that, I still thoroughly enjoyed it.

One downside about the Island Trials was that the trial revolved around going around on the specific island the trial was on and in turn, it made the plot kind of predictable.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

J: Favourite game of the series and why?

Z: The game that brought Primal Reversion and the very first game in the Pokémon series that I played, with a boost in 3D graphics.

The gen III remake of Sapphire and Ruby – Pokémon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire.

It really takes me back to the very first time I played Pokémon. Diving around Sootopolis City to catch a Relicanth and wondering what Mossdeep City Space Center was all about. And of course, The Mirage Island which never ever appears.

Imagine going through that in amazing 3DS graphics, coupled with Mega Evolution; the mechanic I like the most.

If ORAS (Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire) had the Battle Frontier then it would be the perfect game, no questions asked.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

J: Pokémon has been around for the past two decades, both of us being loyal followers of the franchise have seen its ups and downs. What was your favourite feature from a Pokémon game and your least favourite one?

Z: There are too many features in one specific game that I can recall but if I were to name one, it would definitely be the first game that brought 3D gameplay to Pokémon.

The roller skating feature in Pokémon X and Y. Prior to the introduction of roller skating, the only way that players can move around is either by walking, running or mounting your bike.

XY took this to another level by introducing the roller skating feature which allowed you to roller skate in game. It sounds cliche but for those who have never played XY, I suggest that you watch a couple of videos on YouTube about it. Some spoilers, you can do some stunts and tricks in the game with it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

J: Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon, the sequels of Sun and Moon, will be released in less than a month. With news that Ultra Sun and Moon being the final games of the 3DS system for the Pokémon franchise, what do you hope and expect to see from the games itself?

Z: Here we go again, each time that we hoped for something refreshing, it never happens. I’ve grown accustomed to this disappointment for years man.

So for the first time, I will just keep my fingers crossed and expect nothing but exciting post-game content.

*EDIT* TEAM RAINBOW ROCKET??? SIGN ME UP MAN. I GOT A FEELING THAT USUM (Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon) WILL BE AMAZING!!!

 

so hyped
TEAM RAINBOW ROCKET!!!

J: There are rumours that a cross-region Pokémon game will be released on the Nintendo Switch in the future. Will you consider getting the Nintendo Switch to play this rumored game?

Z: We’ll see. Unless Nintendo confirms it then I’ll be invested in it. I honestly don’t think it will be in Nintendo’s best interest to release a game that allows us to travel between regions.

To be honest, I would prefer them release remakes of older games on new gaming consoles.

 

world map
Pokémon players long to travel between regions like how one can travel around the world.

 

J: Any shoutouts?

Z: Shoutout to all my friends who have played Pokémon with me from the beginning. Shoutout to my friends from Secondary School, and of course my Korean buddies.

A special shoutout to you, Johann, for featuring me on your blog. Let’s complete the Pokédex together in USUM!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑